Lithium Geolith

The lithium market

 

Strong growth demand

Increasing the production of lithium is a strategic issue for a Successful Energy Transition. The increase in the number of electric vehicles is boosting global demand for this metal, which is used to manufacture their batteries. Lithium Production must be multiplied by 8 over the next 10 years to meet these needs.

 

Production is far away and very impactful

Globally, lithium comes from two origins:

  • Almost half from Latin American salars (Chile, Argentina and Bolivia). Lithium is extracted from brines after a long treatment and evaporation process (almost 24 months).

  • The other half is extracted from rock ores from quarries mainly located in Australia, China, North America and Canada.

Unfortunately current mining techniques have a major environmental footprint and require significant extraction times.

 

A necessary awareness

Faced with the growing needs of battery manufacturers, new resources and forms of extraction must be implemented. Cleaner and more environmentally friendly, they must open up access to less concentrated lithium deposits, thereby broadening the possible fields of production.

GEOLITH has been working towards this goal since its creation. Its innovative and eco-responsible technologies provide new solutions for extracting lithium from geothermal and oil production waters not yet exploited to date.

 

Lithium in Europe for a new industrial sector

Thanks to GEOLITH's processes, the lithium present in sufficient quantity in the geothermal waters of the Rhine Valley can be extracted and make the countries of Europe independent in their supply, while at the same time giving birth to a new industrial sector of Sustainable Mining.

Geolith 2020

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

Lithium Geolith

Le marché du lithium

 

Une demande en forte croissance

Accroitre la production de lithium est un enjeu stratégique pour réussir la transition énergétique. L’augmentation du nombre des véhicules électriques booste la demande mondiale de ce métal qui entre dans la fabrication de leurs batteries. La production doit être multipliée par 8 au cours des 10 prochaines années pour subvenir à ces besoins.

 

Une production éloignée et trop impactante

Au niveau mondial, le lithium provient de deux origines:

  • Près de la moitié à partir des salars d'Amérique latine (Chili, Argentine et Bolivie). Le lithium est extrait de saumures après un long procédé de traitement et d'évaporation (près de 24 mois).

  • Pour l'autre moitié à partir de minerais de roches issus de carrières principalement situées en Australie, Chine, Amérique du nord, Canada.

Malheureusement les techniques d'exploitation actuelles exercent une empreinte forte sur l'environnement et nécessitent des durées d'extraction conséquentes.

Une nécessaire prise de conscience

Devant les besoins croissants des industriels fabricants de batteries, de nouvelles ressources et formes d'extraction doivent être mises en œuvre. Plus propres et plus respectueuses de l'environnement, elles doivent ouvrir l'accès à des gisements moins concentrés en lithium pour ainsi élargir les champs possibles de production.

Depuis sa création GEOLITH œuvre dans ce sens. Ses technologies innovantes et écoresponsables apportent de nouvelles solutions d'extraction à partir des eaux géothermales et pétrolières encore non exploitées à ce jour.

 

Du lithium en Europe pour une nouvelle filière industrielle

Grâce aux procédés de GEOLITH, le lithium présent en quantité suffisante dans les eaux de géothermie de la vallée du Rhin peut être extrait et rendre les pays d'Europe indépendants pour leur approvisionnement tout en donnant l'élan à une nouvelle filière industrielle porteuse de la transition énergétique et respectueuse de l'environnement.

Geolith 2020

  • LinkedIn Social Icône